Skip to content

Valentines, Shmalentines.

February 15, 2011
by

Well, it’s Shmalentine’s Say!…that is to say the day after the 14th. That day has come and gone, and the world is all the better for it. I spent the 14th at home in a semi-relaxed state, not acknowledging what day it was, and catching up with Tabrias. I know that the people who know me believe I hate valentine’s day, but truth be told, I don’t really. I don’t like it, or hate it..I mean, it’s not like I have some traumatic valentine’s back story like getting dumped three days before valentine’s that has put me off that pseudo-holiday forever or anything kooky like that…..sorry. Different story for a different day I guess. In all honesty, I’m really just indifferent to the whole shebang. I guess it would be a different story altogether if I had someone to spend this day with, because if I did, I might actually give a care about it.

            But then, that presents a paradox in front of me. If I actually did have someone to spend it with, I would be stressed trying to find the perfect gift and trying to figure out how to make it the best day ever and yadda yadda yadda, but apart from the stress I would be with someone. Whereas now, I don’t really have any worries about doing anything semi-valentiney to impress anyone because I’m single. It’s a bit of a catch-22 when you think about it. Being happy and stressed, or being alone and melancholy. Either situation has both positive and negative aspects to them. I mean, It doesn’t necessarily have to mean that if I were with someone, I would be stressed. Depending on whoever the girl may be, I think I would have had everything pretty much  planned with little to no hassle. Eh, regardless, I have a whole year to remedy that situation. 

            I actually don’t have much to say about valentine’s in this post. I was just observing the extraneous pressure people seem to put on that day. Again, if a guy or a girl knew the person they were with really well, they wouldn’t have to stress about what to do or buy, because they would know the exact thing that would be appreciated by the other party. That’s just common sense people. If I had any issue with the “holiday” (which I do),  it would just be the fact that people give that day way too much importance than it deserves. Why does it have to be that particular day where you have to show your love? What makes that day so special that makes people wear their hearts on the sleeves and lay it all on the line? Why can’t a person show their feelings throughout the year instead of a 24 hour span?  I’m not knocking it all the way down however. If you are a person that goes completely gaga over it, and really loves the holiday, then good for you! By all means, celebrate to your heart’s content  if you’re a fan. I just think people shouldn’t allow a fabricated holiday with cloudy historical origins to run their entire lives for  the first two weeks of February.

           

(Well said, Oscar. Well said.)

About three years ago, I got an idea  looking at all of the valentine card boxes that are usually bought by little kids for parties. You know which ones I’m talking about. They’re usually cartoon related, with Hello Kitty, Transformers, movie tie-ins, or what have you. While they’re flippin cool graphics wise, the text is usually cheesy and lame. More often than not, it’s usually just “be mine, valentine” “happy valentine’s day” or some badly written pun that tries to relate to the subject of the card. So anyways, I had the idea of making my own cards from movies that don’t normally have any valentines associated with them. One of the movies I wanted cards from was Ghostbusters.

            I told Tabrias about it, and he was on board to help me photoshop them. We came up with more ideas, and after a couple of days of talking, we got together and started making them.  We got 3 done, but somehow we forgot to save, so all our hard work was for nothing. We were going to post them on our old forum site, but we didn’t because they no longer existed. So for the past three years, I have been thinking about them, and coming up with more movies to make cards from. I hope we will actually have these cards done by next valentines. (Here’s hoping anyways). Well I guess that’s it until next time.

Side bar: Tabrias and I have a running joke about what we always end up doing on valentines, (but for the sake of decency I won’t say what it is here. I’ll let Tabrias write it in one of his posts :D)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

